Youth of the Year is a National Exchange Club awards program that recognizes outstanding students in the community who have excelled in academics and leadership.

The program not only enhances career opportunities for those honored, it also promotes good citizenship, a desire for greater scholastic achievement, and development of well-rounded personalities for other young adults in the community.

The winner is eligible to compete for the Tennessee District Youth of the Year award. The District award carries a scholarship of at least $1,000 and the right to compete for the National Exchange Club Youth of the Year award.

How To Apply:

  • Complete the nomination form, which can be obtained from the youth chair-person.
  • Review and complete the District form. The completed and signed form must accompany the entry packet.
  • Make sure school officials, parent/guardian, and sponsoring club president sign the form from National. Club president and club secretary must sign the District form.
  • Include a 5×7 photograph of the nominee
  • Forward the entry forms, required essay, and photograph to the District youth chair-person by April 30th.

2021 Youth of the Month Essay: to be announced

  • The Tennessee District Youth of the Year award will be presented at the District convention. To be eligible, the award winner must be present at the award ceremony to receive the award in person. Local clubs should verify with their candidate that he or she would be able to be present at both the District and National conventions, if required, before submitting the entry.

Scholarship Winners for 2020:

Liam Altenbern- $1000.
Claire Cole- $1000.
Conner Dunlap- $1000
Jonathan Harris- $1500.
Allexus Leftwich- $1000
Stephen Smart- $1000.
Emma Swain- $1000.
Noah Wren- $1000